Little Language Learning Steps

Flags

Hi all,

 I’m coming to the end of the first week of my challenge/experiment, and now I’m starting to see the issues which are ahead of me.

 I’ve listed the issues below:

  • Although Polish is a Slavonic language and Spanish is a Romance language, I’m still struggling to find a way to separate them in my head and switch from one to the other.
  • I’m trying my best to remember the genders of Spanish nouns as unlike Polish, there doesn’t seem any logical explanation.
  • I’m still making mistakes with Polish case endings
  • I’m having problems with the Spanish verbs ‘ser’, ‘estar’ and ‘haber’ (although I’m starting to understand how to use ‘haber’)

On the plus side:

  • My Spanish and Polish vocabulary is getting bigger by the day
  • I have now memorised Spanish and Polish linking words and phrases, so this will hopefully improve my speaking and take me to a higher level
  • My understanding of Spanish has improved a lot over the last week but the only downside is that it depends on the dialect. At the moment, I’m finding it really hard to understand Castilian Spanish 

If you have any tips to help me with my language learning, please can you let me know.

Check out my Facebook page for daily updates on how I’m getting on and feel free to follow me on Twitter.

Leave a comment