Learning Polish in Poland

Flags

Believe it or not, writing a blog, learning two languages at the same time and deciding to spend some time in the one of my target language countries can be a little bit challenging but I’m trying my best.
Ok, I bet you can’t guess where I am right now? Am I in Poland or am I in Spain?
Here’s a clue… dzisiaj, mówiłem po polsku. Ok, it’s not really a clue but a statement of what I’ve been doing today in Kraków, Poland.
Two weeks ago, I arrived in Poland to improve my Polish speaking and understanding. I spent one week in Krakow and then I spent a week in Jarosławiec, which is a seaside town in the north of Poland.

20160826_194109

Latarnia morska w Jarosławcu/Lighthouse in Jarosławiec
My trip to Jarosławiec didn’t quite go according to plan as I managed to get tonsillitis  (‘angina’ in Polish) and after visiting a doctor,  I was unable to speak English let alone Polish for the first three days.
So what have I learnt?
Firstly I’ve learnt that everyone who is decides to visit a foreign country should learn at least a little bit of language, just in case they become ill.
Secondly, I find it really hard to speak formal Polish.

20160827_151410
Singing Polish Trains

Thirdly, according to a sign on a train, the end of Polish trains sing ☺.

Finally, I realised that I need to have more one to one Polish conversations, so I decided to join Wespeke, a language exchange website. I’ve already started talking with a native Polish speaker, and I hope to continue speaking with him when I return to the UK.
The curse of being a native English speaker is that the majority of Polish people under 30 prefer to converse in English.
To spend more time on my language learning, I’ve decided to only upload a blog post once a month (the second Thursday of each month).

Leave a comment